Skip to content

Cover Your Tracks

Learn how to delete the history on your browser so your abuser cannot tell you have been to our site.

IMPORTANT

This information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites. Additionally, there is a lot of low-level software that can 'dig-up' where you have been on the Internet as well as what you have done on your computer. The safest way to find information on the Internet, would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

Modern Browsers and "hidden" modes

Many modern browsers have modes you can use which will not track your activity. It's important to note that activity is only hidden AFTER you enable these modes, and only for as long as you're browsing. Once you close your browser window you then have to re-enable these modes if you want to browse more. Here is what they are called in some browsers:

  • Google Chrome - Incognito (available in the File menu as "New Incognito Window")
  • Safari - Private Browsing (available in the Safari menu as "Private Browsing...")
  • Firefox - Private Window (available in the File menu as "New Private Window")
  • Internet Explorer - InPrivate Browsing (available in the Safety menu as "InPrivate Browsing")

If you're not seeing an option for private browsing in your browser, or if the steps above don't work for you, simply search Google for how to browse in private. Instructions for your particular browser should be available.

IMPORTANT: If you're reading this YOUR ABUSER ALREADY CAN SEE YOU'VE BEEN TO OUR SITE unless you started browsing using a mode listed above.

Mobile Devices

If you're using a mobile device, your abuser can still access your browsing history etc. Many mobile browsers also have these modes. If you're unsure how to enable them, do a quick search for "private browsing on my X" where "X" is the type of phone or mobile device you're using.

How do I cover my tracks if I haven't used one of these modes or have already visited this page without one enabled?

The process for doing this varies with each different browser, and of course as time goes on new browsers are released which requires a different set of directions. This website has some good information on how to erase your browsing history. If you do not see your browser here, a quick Google search for "how to erase my browsing history on X" where X is the browser you're using should turn up the exact instructions you need.

One Additional Tip

When you clear the cache and the history list, you erase not only the information on where you've been, but any other information that had been previously stored there. So, if your partner checks and sees that the cache and the history list have been completely emptied, he'll not only know that you know how to do this, but might guess that you're trying to hide something.

One possible way to avoid suspicion is to clear the cache and history once you're done looking at information you don't want your partner to know about. After they're cleared, spend some time visiting sites that you think your partner wouldn't object to. This way, the cache and history list start to get filled up and your partner might be less likely to notice that old information is missing.